Cybersecurity in Smart Grids - WG 2020-3



The need for cybersecurity is ever increasing to guaranty the network resilience and customers protection. This becomes ever more important as more and more appliances are interconnected or connected to the cloud. When asset, spread all over the network, “critical” systems and automation solution start to be all interconnected or connected, the cybersecurity is an increasingly important issue. DSOs, who are designated as Operators of Essential Services (OES), will have to prove they properly manage this issue.
In the European Union, the European Commission fosters the preparation of a dedicated Network Code, while in the North America, the NIST provisions are put forward.


The working group will identify, based on feedback, best practice in terms of:
Information Security Management System for Mission Critical Information Infrastructure (SGSI-IIMC);
Technical incident details e.g. Indicator of Compromise (IoC) information post Cyber incident in a timely manner;
Network code on Cybersecurity implementations and improves opportunities;
Network code on Cybersecurity proof technologies: state-of-the-art;
Cybersecurity implementations

In conclusion the report should facilitate an understanding about best practices, constrains and opportunities for DSO Information Security Management System for Mission Critical Information Infrastructure (SGSI-IIMC).

Convener :

Bessani Alysson, University of Lisbon, Portugal

Members :

Abreu Joana, EDP Distribuição, Portugal
Aguirre Jon, Ormazabal, Spain
Arafa Mohamed Ibrahim Ahmed, Ministry of Electricity and Renewable Energy, Egypt
Boehm Thilo, Maschinenfabrik Reinhausen, Germany
Caire Raphael, Grenoble INPG, France
Campara Djenana, KDM Analytics, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Chen HuaJun, China Southern Power Grid, China
Choi Bong Jun, Soongsil University, Korea
Clément Olivier, Enedis, France
Csatár János,  BME, Hungary
Farago Ferenc, Hungarian Energy and Public Utility Regulatory Authority, Hungary
García Imanol, Ingeteam, Spain
Heljić Jasmin, JP Elektroprivreda BiH, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Hyun Muyong, KDN, Korea
Jardim Mario, Schneider Electric, France
Jelenc Bogomil, Sodo d.o.o., Slovenia
Jeong Hyeyoon, KDN, Korea
Kreštalica Emina, JP Elektroprivreda BiH, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Krueger Tim, Stromnetz Hamburg GmbH, Germany
Kummer Christine, Vorarlberger Energienetze GmbH, Austria
Kwon Yoo Jin, Korea Electric Power Corporation, Korea
Molnar Martin, EON, Hungary
Momtaz Alkhouly, Egyptian Electricity Holding Company, Egypt
Sánchez Rodríguez Miguel Ángel, Grupo Arteche, Spain
Shereen Fouad Mahmood El Senduny, Egyptian Electricity Holding Company, Egypt
Vokony István, E.ON, Hungary
Xu Qianwen, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
Yang Li, Northeast Electric Power University, China